Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb what's new tools photos histories databases home
Histories >  Eau Claire County Historical Accounts >

"History of Eau Claire County Wisconsin, 1914, Past and Present"

Chapter  17 - The Medical Fraternity 

Eau Claire County Medical Society

(-as transcribed from page 317)

The organization of the American Medical Association in 1846-47, as a national representative body composed of delegates from the several states, gave a fresh and strong impetus to the work of uniting the members of the profession in social organizations for mutual improvement and scientific advancement, in every part of the country.  Wisconsin as well as nearly every state in the Union has her medical society, and a few years ago the medical society of the Chippewa Valley was organized, to which a good many doctors from Eau Claire county held membership, and in 1902, the Eau Claire County Medical Society was formed with the greater part of the practicing physicians as members.  The first president of the society was Dr. J. V. R. Lyman, who in turn has been succeeded by doctors J. F. Farr, Chr. Midelfart, D. W. Ashum, A. L. Payne and F. S. Cook.  The purpose of the organization is to bring the doctors closer together, and create a good fellowship feeling among them, and for the discussion of important medical subjects.  Special papers are discoursed at the meetings by members of the society on the important issues of the day, calculated to impart to the members the latest discoveries in medical science for the up-to-date treatment of disease.

The following is a list of the members of the society:

Dr. D. W. Ashum, P. B. Amundson, J. O. Arnson, J. C. Baird, R. R. Chase, W. J. Clancy, F. S. Cook, M. C. Crane, H. F. Derge, J. F. Farr, L. H. Flynn, H. A. Fulton, J. B. Goddard, Dr. E. P. Hayes, E. S. Hayes, A. F. Hahn, Sue Hebard, Dr. Fred Johnson, F. A. La Breck, J. V. R. Lyman, E. L. Mason, J. Mathiesen, C. Midelfart, R. E. Mitchell, Alex. Montgomery, John L. Montgomery, Wm. Montgomery, A. L. Payne, H. F. Prill, P. E. Riley, W. O. Seemann, E. M. A. Sizer, G. M. Smith, A. D. H Thrane, E. E. Tupper, R. F. Werner, E. H. Winter, S. Williams, C. W. Wilkowske, A. E. Olson, Oscar Knutson, H. C. Ericksen.

Please use this form to search this site:
Site Search by PicoSearch pico

The WIGenWeb Project logo was designed and provided by Debbie Barrett.

DISCLAIMER:  No claim is made to the copyrights of the individual submitters. The contents of this entire website may be used for personal use only by individuals researching their ancestry. Commercial use of this information for profit is strictly prohibited without prior permission of the owners. Other genealogical websites may link to this website; however, permission is not granted to duplicate any of the contents. Anyone contributing material for posting does so in recognition of its free, non-commercial distribution, as well as the responsibility to assure that no copyright is violated by the submission.  This website and its coordinator are not responsible for donations of copyrighted material where explicit written permission has not been granted for use.

copyright footer

Copyright © 1998 - 2012 wigenwebcc
All Rights Reserved
This website was first established on 28 Jan 1998